Skip to content

10 Important Survival Downloads

January 20, 2011

One of my major liabilities is that both I and my husband are completely children of the modern age. Give us a computer, a network to set up, a entertainment system to hook up and we’re in our element. In the face of a major disaster – we’re pretty much in major trouble. We’re working on learning some “old-fashioned” skills (more about that in a later post). Even if we were totally competent survivalist, you never know what situations may arise in the future.

Enter the wonderful folks over at ModernSurvivalOnline.com and their lovely (and free!) Survival Database Downloads. Here are the top ten I’m downloading and then printing out, placing in waterproof storage, and keeping safe.  In particular, I thought the dentistry manual was very wise – your teeth are vital to your longevity, and can completely consume you with pain if not treated. I also really, really hope I never need the war surgery information – which probably means it’s especially important to have!

The Household Cyclopedia is also a great way to reclaim lost skills – I’m sure that at my current proficiency level, there would be a lot of trial and error, but I’m thankful previous generations thought it prudent to record these sorts of instructions!

  1. FM 4-25-11 First Aid (2002)
  2. Guide to Canning
  3. Rangers Handboook
  4. Where There is No Dentist
  5. NATO Emergency War Surgery
  6. A Guide to Raised Bed Gardening
  7. FM 3-06 Combined Arms Operations in Urban Terrain
  8. 1881 Household Cyclopedia
  9. FM 21-76-1 Survival-Evasion-Recovery
  10. U.S. Army Field Manual 3-05.70
One Comment leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 12:43 am

    Thanks for the link……

    Take care – Rourke

Leave a comment