Skip to content

Survival gear in unexpected places

February 3, 2011

I went in to Harbor Freight the other day to buy some more of their awesome scissors, and had some time to kill. As I wandered through the aisles I started noticing that they also have some great deals on other items that might be valuable in your emergency kit.

Some of the items I see in most recommendations for emergency kits are LED flashlights (the batteries last for a loooooong time), fire starters and knives. In particular, I had been wanting to get some different knives and carry one at all times – earlier this year I was involved in a life or death situation that resulted in a death that might possibly had been prevented with quicker access to a knife, so now I’ve been noticing in a variety of situations how different types of knives could be valuable.

They also have a sweet solar lantern and hand crank lantern at what seem to be decent prices, I’m going to pick up some of those as well.

I was able to get the following items:

  • Magnesium fire starters – I’ve seen these for $20 at gun shows, these were just 2.49 so I stocked up!
  • Hunting/Survival knife for 9.99
  • LED flashlights on clearance for .67 cents (I was stoked about this – the floor clerk looked at me funny when bought all 6 they had left).
  • Little 2 pack LED flashlights, great for bedside and cars for 3.99
  • Little folding knife for 3.99 (this is what I think I’ll carry with me just to always be prepared)

So this really isn’t an advertisement for Harbor Freight – although it is a great store! This is more about keeping your eyes open in atypical places, because you never know when you’ll find 67 cent flashlights!

Oh, and don’t forget to check out those awesome scissors.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

